Among Us MOD APK

UTC Awards Recognize Importance of ICT Networks to Grid Reliability, Resilience

UTC Awards Recognize Importance of ICT Networks to Grid Reliability, Resilience

Arlington, Va.—June 7, 2023  The Utilities Technology Council (UTC) has recognized utilities and their personnel who demonstrated initiative, perseverance, and innovative thinking throughout the past year. The awards were presented on June 7th at the association’s 2023 Telecom & Technology Conference in Fort Lauderdale, FL, during the General Session.

UTC’s awards recognize the importance of utility Information and Communications Technology (ICT) systems and the employees who build, operate, and maintain these systems to support the reliability, resilience, and safety of the nation’s electric systems. From storm response to day-to-day reliability, ICT networks also provide opportunities for communities to enhance economic prosperity, provide innovative new services, and support health, education, and access to critical services.

“Congratulations to all of our winners this year,” said UTC Board Chair Dewey Day, PG&E. “They all exemplify what is best about UTC and about our industry and its workforce. Over the past year, that workforce has answered the call during unprecedented challenges here at home, such as Hurricane Ian, and uncertainty abroad, and provided their communities with essential, and in many cases lifesaving services under uncharted and sometimes dangerous circumstances. These awards show what makes UTC so special—the people, the utilities, and the technology partners who make up our membership. Every day our members work hard to support reliable, resilient, and affordable services to people and businesses. It is an honor to recognize a select few for their service.”

The 2023 UTC Award Winners are:

  • APEX Award – Recognizes individual accomplishment and organizational commitment for outstanding projects undertaken by utility telecom workers.
    • WINNER: Salt River Project
  • Dondanville Award – Established in 1989, named in honor of UTC’s first President and CEO, Russell V. Dondanville. The Dondanville Award recognizes an individual’s extraordinary service and dedication to UTC over the years through active participation in numerous association activities.
    • WINNER:  Doug W. Barton, Southern Company
  • Meehan Award – Established in 1998, the Meehan Award is named in honor of UTC’s first Exec. Director Charles M. (Mike) Meehan. It recognizes an individual for their extraordinary leadership in projects during the past year that greatly furthered the interests and objectives of UTC.
    • WINNER:  Shaun Skidmore, Idaho Power
  • Connie Durcsak Unsung Hero Award – Recognizes an individual or utility that exemplifies the selfless, admirable, necessary, never-ending work that our utility workers do every day in extenuating circumstances. They perform heroic tasks daily and there is often no press, fanfare, or acknowledgment of the lifesaving efforts performed by our utility workers.
    • WINNERS:  Sheldon Semper and Jeremy Chargois, CenterPoint Energy
  • UTC’s Emerging Leaders Award – This award acknowledges “rising stars” within UTC’s member utilities, who are dedicated to the critical work of telecom, infrastructure, IT/OT, security, technology innovation, policy, and other key utility disciplines.
    • WINNERS:
      • Kyle Cormier, Salt River Project
      • Shawna Kiesbuy, Avista Corp.
      • Travis Blalack, Southern California Edison
  •  Chair’s Award – These awards are given in appreciation for service to UTC during the past calendar year.
    • WINNERS:
      • Matt Schnell; Nebraska Public Power District
      • Sheila Wells
      • Travis Phifer; Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association, Inc.
      • Eric Wagner; UTC
      • Kevin Lynch; UTC
  • IMPACT Award – Building on the legacy of UTC awards, the IMPACT award honors the UTC Associate Member Organizations making a great impact on our industry through an innovative and proven solution.
    • WINNER: Osmose Utilities Services, Inc.
  • Pinnacle Award – In 2022 UTC introduced the Pinnacle Award. The award recognizes UTC staff person(s) or associate for making an extraordinary impact on their colleagues, the members and/or the association. The Pinnacle Award recognizes the employee(s) who exemplifies UTC’s team norms of respect, decision-making, communication, accountability, and prioritization.
    • WINNER: Joann Howell, Vice President, Spectrum Services


About UTC 

The Utilities Technology Council (UTC) is a global trade association dedicated to serving critical infrastructure providers. Through advocacy, education and collaboration, UTC creates a favorable business, regulatory and technology environment for our members who own or operate Information and Communication Technology (ICT) systems in support of their core business. For more information:


Join Now


Access Resources

Skip to content