Among Us MOD APK

UTC Announces 2016 Award Winners

UTC Announces 2016 Award Winners

Industry Leaders Honored at Telecom & Technology Conference

Denver, CO and Washington, DC, May 6, 2016 – Utilities Telecom Council (UTC) held its annual awards dinner last night in Denver at the UTC Telecom & Technology 2016 conference. The celebration dinner sponsored by Fujitsu honored utilities and individuals who have showed extraordinary initiative throughout the past year. The UTC Awards pay tribute to the critical role of information and communications technologies in delivering essential energy and water services to communities throughout the world.

The various UTC awards recognize that in emergencies, utility communications technology saves lives, protects property, speeds restoration, and puts communities on the path to recovery; While every day, utility communications provide opportunities for communities to enhance economic prosperity, provide innovative new services, and support health, education and access to critical services.

The 2016 UTC Award Winners are:

  • Impact Awards – To honor the UTC Associate Member Organizations making a great impact on our industry through an innovative and proven solution.
    • WINNER: MegaSys (Software category)
    • WINNER: Ciena (Hardware category)
  • UtiliSite Council Excellence Award – Bestowed on the utility organization, which has demonstrated benefits with their collocation or joint use program.
    • WINNER: Kansas City Power & Light
  • Apex Award – Recognizes individual accomplishment and organizational commitment for outstanding projects undertaken by utility telecom workers.
    • WINNER: Co-Mo Electric Cooperative, Tipton, MO
  • Connie Durcsak Visionary Award – A new award established to honor the leadership of Connie Durcsak, former CEO of UTC who passed away unexpectedly last November. This award recognizes an individual at a member utility who has personally exemplified and embodied the visionary spirit for our industry that Connie modeled herself.
    • WINNER: Matt Schnell, Nebraska Public Power District
  • Meehan Award – Established in 1998, the Meehan Award is named in honor of UTC’s first Exec. Director Charles M. (Mike) Meehan. It recognizes individuals for their extraordinary leadership in projects during the past year that greatly furthered the interests and objectives of UTC.
    • WINNER: Matt Schnell, Nebraska Public Power District
  • Dondanville Award – Established in 1989, named in honor of UTC’s first President & CEO, Russell V. Dondanville. It recognizes an individual’s extraordinary service and dedication to UTC over the years through active participation in numerous Association activities.
    • WINNER: Karnel Thomas, UTC, VP of Member Services

“The annual UTC Awards dinner  is a very special time that we can come together and recognize achievement, excellence and contributions that ultimately drive our industry forward and improve the communities we serve – and most important, the PEOPLE,” said Ron Taylor, UTC 2015-16 Chairman of the Board.

About UTC

The Utilities Telecom Council (UTC) is a global trade association dedicated to serving critical infrastructure providers. Through advocacy, education and collaboration, UTC creates a favorable business, regulatory and technology environment for our members who own or operate Information and Communication Technology (ICT) systems in support of their core business.


Join Now


Access Resources

Skip to content