Among Us MOD APK

UTC Awards Recognize Importance of ICT Networks to Grid Reliability, Resilience, Dedication and Industry Service

UTC Awards Recognize Importance of ICT Networks to Grid Reliability, Resilience, Dedication and Industry Service

Arlington, Va.—May 24, 2024  The Utilities Technology Council (UTC) has recognized utilities and their personnel who demonstrated initiative, perseverance, and innovative thinking throughout the past year. The awards were presented on May 22nd and 23rd at the association’s 2024 Telecom & Technology Conference in Mobile, AL, during the General Session and annual Membership Meeting.

UTC’s awards recognize the importance of utility Information and Communications Technology (ICT) systems and the employees who build, operate, and maintain these systems to support the reliability, resilience, and safety of the nation’s electric systems. From storm response to day-to-day reliability, ICT networks also provide opportunities for communities to enhance economic prosperity, provide innovative new services, and support health, education, and access to critical services.

“As someone with experience working for a utility, you don’t do it for the recognition,” said UTC President and CEO, Rusty Williams, who presented the Dondanville Award and the Impact Award. The Dondanville Award holds a special place in my heart because I was the recipient of it in 2011, and it also represents what I have been telling UTC audiences over the last 5 months about “being the one.”

“Lockard & White is well deserving of the Impact Award for its commitment, leadership, technological innovation, and collaborative efforts toward sustaining critical infrastructure communications for electric utilities and beyond,” Williams said of the Lockard & White team, who showed up to accept the award and thanked their late friend and colleague, Randall Watkins for his commitment to their mission, which would not have been completed without his endless dedication.

The 2024 UTC Award Winners are:

  • Dondanville Award Winner:  SHEILA WELLS (Leidos)
    • Established in 1989, the Dondanville Award is named in honor of UTC’s first president, Russell V. Dondanville. This award formally recognizes an individual’s extraordinary service and dedication to UTC over the years through active participation in numerous Association activities. Dondanville Award recipients are recognized for their unwavering dedication, inspiring perspective, and devotion. This is a person who shows integrity “on and off the court.”
  • Impact (Service) Award Winner: LOCKARD & WHITE
    • The Impact Award honors the UTC Associate Member Organizations making a great impact on our industry through an innovative and proven solution.
    • Established nearly 20 years ago, the Apex Award recognizes utilities that have completed compelling telecommunication projects; whether in emergencies or in normal operations, utility communications technology saves lives, protects property, and provides opportunities for communities to enhance economic prosperity
  • Meehan Award Winner:  KYLE J. CORMIER (Salt River Project)
    • Established in 1998, the Meehan Award is named in honor of UTC’s first Exec. Director Charles M. (Mike) Meehan. It recognizes an individual for their extraordinary leadership in projects during the past year that greatly furthered the interests and objectives of UTC.
  • UTC’s Emerging Leaders Award – This award acknowledges “rising stars” within UTC’s member utilities, who are dedicated to the critical work of telecom, infrastructure, IT/OT, security, technology innovation, policy, and other key utility disciplines.
    • WINNERS:
      • JULIE LEININGER – Orlando Utilities
      • JASON SMITH – Blue Ridge Energy
    • Chair’s Award – These awards are given in appreciation for service to UTC during the past calendar year and are hand-picked by the outgoing Chair of the UTC Board. The Chair selects the people they feel went above and beyond during their tenure.
      • WINNERS:
        • DOUG BARTON – Southern Company
        • RON BECK – Burns and McDonnell
        • DEWEY DAY – PG&E
        • SHAWNA KIESBUY – Avista
        • TIM MCKAY – Hydro One
        • TRAVIS PHIFER – Tristate G&T
        • TONY SUPPA – PSEG
        • KASEY WITT – UTC


About UTC 

The Utilities Technology Council (UTC) is a global trade association dedicated to serving critical infrastructure providers. Through advocacy, education and collaboration, UTC creates a favorable business, regulatory and technology environment for our members who own or operate Information and Communication Technology (ICT) systems in support of their core business. For more information:


Join Now


Access Resources

Skip to content