The UTC Board of Directors and Chairs

Our Board of Directors is made up of members who volunteer their time to enhance the services UTC provides and are committed to delivering the best possible member benefit. All UTC Members are encouraged to participate in the committees, divisions and councils of UTC. For information on each, please contact the staff liaison listed below the respective groups.

Current UTC Executive Board Officers are:

UTC Board of Directors (May 2017)

Chairwoman of the Board
Kathy Nelson, Great River Energy

President/Chief Executive Officer
Joy Ditto, Utilities Technology Council

Vice Chairman of the Board
Roger Bryant, Southern Company

Greg Angst, CenterPoint Energy

Immediate-Past Chairman
Matt Schnell, Nebraska Public Power Dist.

Special Board Committees:
Audit Committee Chair
Chris Campbell, Salt River Project

Finance Committee Chair
Greg Angst, CenterPoint Energy

Forward Planning Committee Chair
Roger Bryant, Southern Company

Nominating Committee Chair
Matt Schnell, Nebraska Public Power Dist.

Leadership Advisory Council
Mike Lowe, Blue Ridge EMC

At Large Board Members:

Chuck Hackney, CenterPoint Energy

Chris Campbell, Salt River Project

Doug McGinnis, Exelon Corporation

John Nachilly, Eversource Energy

Liana Hite, Ameren

Independent Operating Unit Chairs:
Africa Utilities Technology Council
Fessor Mbango, Erongo RED, Namibia

European Utilities Telecom Council
Dr. Andreas Breuer, Innogy

Utilities Technology Council Canada
Geoffrey Trofimuk, SaskPower

Global Advisory Council
Dr. Andreas Breuer, Innogy, EUTC

U.S. Regional Chairs:

New England Region (1)
Matt Acton, Eversource Energy

Middle Atlantic Region (2)

Southeast Region (3)
Mostafa Shamsuddin, NES

Great Lakes Region (4)
Philip George, American Electric Power

Minnesota-Wisconsin-Dakotas Region (5)
Paul Lambert, East River Electric Power Coop

Mid-Central Region (6)
Melvin Charuvilayil, Kansas City Power & Light

South Central Region (7)
Michael Silvas, NRG Energy

Rocky Mountain Region (8)
Frank Savage, Black Hills/Colorado Electric Utility Company

Northwest Region (9)
Ethan Angele, Avista

Southwest Region (10)
Eric Fritz, Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Division, Council & Committee Chairs:

Regional Council
Travis Phifer, Tri-State G&T
Staff: Karnel Thomas

UtiliSite Council
Sheila Wells, Nashville Electric Service
Staff: Bobbi Harris

Utilities Broadband Council
Randy Klindt, Ozarks Electric Cooperative
Staff: Brett Kilbourne

Knowledge and Learning Division
Michael Silvas, NRG Energy
Staff: Bobbi Harris

Membership Division
Matt Holthe, Nebraska Public Power Dist.
Staff: Tiffany Bennett

Public Policy Division
Dewey Day, Pacific Gas & Electric
Staff: Sharla Artz

Technical Division
Scott Hughes, Great River Energy
Staff: Bob Lockhart

IT/OT Committee
Kevin Huff, Salt River Project
Staff: Bob Lockhart

Security, Risk & Compliance Committee
Scott Klauminzer, Tacoma Power
Staff: Sharla Artz

Telecom Committee
Todd Marlowe, AEP
Staff: Brett Kilbourne